Muzland - chords


September, 19

SuBo's eclectic covers on new album

SuBo's eclectic covers on new album

Susan Boyle is to cover hits by Depeche Mode and Tears For Fears for her next album.

The global star is to release her versions of the songs on her new album Someone To Watch Over Me, along with standards such as Autumn Leaves and Unchained Melody.

SuBo said of the choice of tracks: "There are certain songs that I liked that resonated with the letters that people had written and sent to me.

"I knew that's what my record needed to be about. They wrote about grief, love, happy and sad times, it was all deeply moving and the songs mirror the emotion and life experience."

Enjoy The Silence was first a top 10 hit for Depeche Mode in 1990, while Tears For Fears made it to number three with their single Mad World in 1982. It was later an unlikely Christmas number one in a mournful version by Michael Andrews and Gary Jules.

The line-up of tracks, which was announced today, will spell a bumper pay day for up and coming singer Emeli Sande who has co-written one new track, This Will Be The Year.

Susan has already sold 14 million albums and is expected to continue her phenomenal sales when the new album comes out on November 7, in time for the Christmas market.

Joni Mitchell's Both Sides Now and the staple Lilac Wine - notably recorded by Elkie Brooks and Jeff Buckley - also feature on the album.

SuBo, runner-up on Britain's Got Talent in 2009, was given a standing ovation when she previewed the first track from the album on US TV. She sang You Have To Be There - written by Abba stars Benny Andersson and Bjorn Ulvaeus - on America's Got Talent.

Added automatically

News archive

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
9 10 11 12 13 14 15 all
  1. Muzland
  2. News 2011
  3. September
  4. SuBo's eclectic covers on new album