Muzland - chords


April, 9

Tom Jones releases new single and music video Pop Star as announces intimate album show

Tom Jones releases new single and music video Pop Star as announces intimate album show

Sir Tom Jones is gearing up to release his new album Surrounded By Time at the end of the month. The upcoming record is set to feature some classic covers and the 80-year-old has already shared a couple as singles. Following on from the likes of No Hole In My Head and One More Cup Of Coffee comes Sir Tom's take on Cat Stevens' Pop Star.

Pop Star originally featured on Cat Stevens' 1970 album Mona Bone Jakon.

On the track, Sir Tom Jones said in a video on his Instagram: "To me, a Pop Star is somebody that's original that comes out and you think 'Wow! That person is really shining'.

"And you got to come on like that on tv, on record...whatever you're doing it's got to be like... 'wow!' And that's a Pop Star.

"Now how long that lasts, that all depends on what type of talent you got."

Sir Tom added: "But the real pop stars to me are original and when it is really good it will last as long as the public want it."

The 80-year-old released his Pop Star single today, writing on social media: "Fizzing with comes Pop Star the latest tune from Surrounded By Time. It'll get you smiling, moving and having some fun!

"Turn it up and hear it now on all your favourite digital platforms. Enjoy x."

While his accompanying music video for the track hit YouTube at 5pm today.

Aside from the new single, Sir Tom also announced today that he would perform an exclusive show for his new album this summer.

The one-off gig will take place at The O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire in London on July 27.

The 80-year-old wrote on Instagram: "If you pre-order my new album on my official online store before 4pm on 13th April, you will receive a code via email on the evening of the 13th, which will enable you to have first access to tickets via the pre-sale, which starts 9am on 14th April. Tickets will then go on general sale 9am on 16th April.

"As you can imagine, I am really looking forward to performing again and this one-off show that explores Surrounded By Time along with some additional special treats, will never be repeated, so I hope you can join me!"

When he announced his new album earlier this year, Sir Tom wrote on Instagram: "Last year, during lockdown and after 5 years of enormous person changes, I finally found the need to express myself through my music.

"So I got into the studio with some great friends and musicians and created a new album! Who expects what is always so completely unexpected? My personal clock started ticketing in 1940, and with all the magnificent strangeness of life on this planet both speeding up and slowing down, the album is titled Surrounded By Time."

The 80-year-old shared how each song tells a story that comes from himself and reflects on his own experience at different times.

He continued: "It's been a helluva ride, and I am really, really proud of this. It's a great listen and I hope you take a moment to give it some Time. Come along with me on this storybook ride...I guarantee you'll love it! TOM."

Surrounded By Time track listing:

1. I Won't Crumble With You If You Fall

2. The Windmills Of Your Mind

3. Pop Star

4. No Hole In My Head

5. Talking Reality Television Blues

6. I Won't Lie

7. This is the Sea

8. One More Cup Of Coffee

9. Samson And Delilah

10. Mother Earth

11. I'm Growing Old

12. Lazarus Man

Sir Tom Jones' new album Surrounded By Time is released on April 23, 2021.


Added automatically

April, 10

Record Store Day returns this year with double drop - Kevin Buckle.

April, 10

Rapper DMX died on Friday aged 50 after suffering a heart attack, having spent almost a week in the hospital and several days on life support.

April, 10

A lawsuit against dance superstar Marshmello has been rejected by a judge.

April, 9

Tom Jones releases new single and music video Pop Star as announces intimate album show.

April, 9

Nike has settled its legal battle with Brooklyn-based design brand MSCHF over the Lil Nas X “Satan Shoes.”…

April, 9

Rage Against the Machine have rescheduled their reunion tour for 2022.

April, 9

The 2010 album Prince scrapped on the eve of its release is finally set to drop.

April, 8

Slane Castle looks set to bring live music back with a bang with a double summer concert in 2022.

April, 7

Russia investigating its own Eurovision song over 'insulting' feminist lyrics.

April, 7

Bradley Walsh was surprised to learn that he actually recognised one of the contestants on the latest episode on The Chase.

1 2 3 4
6 7 all
  1. Chords
  2. News 2021
  3. April
  4. Tom Jones releases new single and music video Pop Star as announces intimate album show